Following on from the review of the ward boundaries of the City carried out by the Electoral Commission over the last 2 years, the City Council will now have 16 Wards each returning 3 Councillors.

This reduces the number of Councillors overall from 57 to 48.

This year ALL the seats on the council are up for election.

The key changes for Broughton are that the boundaries of the Preston Rural East Ward have changed to include Whittingham Parish. The ward now comprises of the Parishes of Broughton, Grimsagh, Haighton & Whittingham with 3 Councillors to be elected.

The candidates for this ward are:

  • Edgar Arbidans: Liberal Democrats
  • Susan Crawshaw: Labour
  • Ian Donnell: Conservative
  • Joanne Joyner: Liberal Democrats
  • Harry Landless: Conservative
  • Peter Lawrence: Liberal Democrats
  • Andrew Maclaren: Labour
  • George Tait: Labour
  • Ron Woollam: Conservative

How to vote:

Residents registered to vote should have received a polling card and can place their vote on the day at any polling station. For an interactive map of polling stations in the Preston area, see below.

Those registered to vote by post will soon receive a postal voting pack. You should complete this and return it by post as soon as possible, although you can also hand in your completed (and properly sealed) voting pack at any polling station on 2nd May.